Writing Forums

So today I joined a writing forum. Well, three actually…

I guess I missed that whole “putting your thoughts out there into the void” thing about writing. I’ve never been all that great at blogging (which you already know my imaginary reader!), and there’s only so many times you can bother your friends with questions about plot, self-doubt, publishing, etc.

I also happened to be reading the acknowledgments at the end of “Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes where she thanks a writing forum by the name of “Writer’s Block”.

Cue me heading to Google.

It turns out there are a few forums out there in cyberspace with this name. I signed up to the first one, already planning my first post in my mind, impatiently awaiting my confirmation email. It came, I posted what I thought was an articulate and well-crafted introduction post. I hit send and refreshed every few minutes, waiting for a reply.

An hour later, I thought to check the other posts on the forum to see if people were more active elsewhere.

Last post: December 2016.

Ah.

To Google again! This time I just searched for generic writing forums and found a post listing the best ones. Result! I joined number one on the list, reposted my brilliant introduction and waited. And waited. And waited.

Eventually I did get a response, but for a forum that boasted of its active community, I have to admit I felt a little downhearted. The response wasn’t even a good one.

Not to worry, not to worry. It’s just an introduction post. No one really reads those things anyway, right?

So I posted in a new section, about my writing insecurities, and this time I had five replies. Five. All of which said….that they didn’t have this problem.

I don’t know what I was expecting from a writing forum, I guess some kind of community. I envisioned myself squirreling away my time on there, developing friends, feeling more at ease with my novel and my insecurities (I’m having one of those dark periods of crippling self-doubt). But no, just frustration and even more self doubt.

Maybe forums just aren’t for me. At least not for now.

Leave a Reply

