#amNOTwriting

I think that a lot of writers (published or unpublished) spend a lot of time not writing, but pretending that we’re at least doing something related to it. This is my week in procrastination and NOT writing.

This week’s book:

thesilkworm1

The Silkworm- Robert Galbraith.

Those eagle-eyed few may have noticed this was on my desk on week one, but I’m a very slow reader when I’m writing (I read with my breakfast in the morning each day), so it’s taken me a bit longer than usual, but that’s nothing against the book. I think it’s brilliant, J.K Rowling has done it again, creating a detective novel where I’m a few chapters from the end and still can’t see who the killer could possibly be.

 

This week’s music:

Cher. Just all the Cher.

I decided last week that I’d add more music into my first novel after binge-watching Fringe (if you’ve never seen it, it’s on Netflix at the moment and I’m obsessed with it. Anyway, the characters have a record player so each episode music is more present to the audience than if it were merely played over the scenes. I like how it can set the mood and a person’s music taste can establish a new sense of character.)

So as I was making a list of what kinds of music they’d all listen to, it seemed to just make sense that one of them would have a slight Cher obsession. It’s her go-to whenever she feels upset, or happy, etc, and Cher is a bit of a role-model to her. It’s adding another depth to the story and the characters I think and I like it. So I’ve been playing a lot of Cher as I went back and added in those little bits.

 

This Week in Pinterest:

83c5f613a71e822bcc7551c5b30e661b

Journals, grimoires, commonplace books, illuminated manuscripts, letters, just all the writing.

Journals and handwritten books play a big part in my series, so I’ve been pinning a lot of examples for inspiration. Check out the board here.

 

This week’s purchase:

13932185_10153990237528167_1998020115_o

Post-it Durable tabs.

I’m a bit of a stationary nerd so I couldn’t resist these. They stick to your files just like a post-it with a coloured line to write on, and they’re a godsend for organizing my series bible. I can now easily see the sections for each book in the series straight away without confusing them with my side dividers. I could even put some across the bottom to easily find important sections. They’re just brilliant.

 

This week’s writing tips:

 

 

Elizabeth Gilbert’s Ted Talk- “Your Elusive Creative Genius”.

I love this. I’ve watched it a few times now and I think the idea of it is brilliant. Distance yourself from the writer to protect yourself, from both vanity and failure.

So that’s pretty much my week of things. Let me know what your week looks like in the comments below.

 

Leave a Reply

